Who we are

We are a group of volunteers  of different ages, backgrounds and perspectives.

We all believe that a People’s Museum of the Troubles and the Peace Process would be a valuable addition to Northern Ireland, and we are exploring ways to make it a reality.

If you would like to join us, please get in touch.


Mary Robinson, First woman President of Ireland and former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights; Chair of The Elders

Fearghal McGarry, Professor of Modern Irish History, Queen’s University Belfast 

Robin Eames, Anglican bishop and life peer, former Primate of All Ireland and Archbishop of Armagh


Rita Duffy,  distinguished artist. Some of her work is in the permanent collections of the Irish Museum of Modern Art and the Imperial War Museum in London.

George and Gwynneth Bain. Sir George Bain was President and Vice-Chancellor of Queen’s University, Belfast from 1998 to 2004


Denis Bradley, journalist and former priest, founder member of the Bogside Community Association. Former Vice Chairman of the Northern Ireland Policing Board 

Mark Devenport, journalist and broadcaster, former BBC Northern Ireland Political Editor, Ireland Correspondent & United Nations Correspondent

Barry Douglas,  Barry Douglas, International pianist. Artistic Director of Camerata Ireland. Barry Douglas was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire for services to music and community relations in the 2021 New Year Honours List.

Board Members

Chair– Jane Morrice,  former head of the European Commission Office in Belfast and former MLA (Northern Ireland Women’s Coalition); Hon. President European Movement Northern Ireland

Secretary – Ed Petersen, Coordinator of Clonard Monastery’s Peace and Reconciliation Ministry. Chair of Forthspring Inter Community Group and Northern Ireland Inter-Faith Forum.

Frank Gaffikin, Emeritus Professor, Queen’s University Belfast School of Nature and Built Environment. Community activist and author of The Human Paradox

Suneil Sharma, Entrepreneur;  former member, Policing Board; former member, Commission for Racial Equality NI; trustee, RAM Foundation

Dr Gul Kacmaz Erk, senior lecturer and programme director of MSc Advanced Architectural Design at Queen’s University Belfast. Her research is on humanitarian architecture as well as cinematic architecture.

Catherine Clinton, Denman Chair and Professor of American History, University of Texas, San Antonio. Historical adviser: Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln (2012)

Jack GillespieBarrister with more than 20 years practicing law in Belfast

John Morison, Professor of Jurisprudence in the School of Law at Queen’s University Belfast and author of many publications in the areas of constitutional law and new technologies.


Olwen Purdue, PhD in History, Senior Lecturer in Irish History and Director of the Centre for Public History, QUB Professional translator and researcher. Author of Huir del Laberinto, a look at the Northern Irish conflict through its depiction on some contemporary fiction.

Jude Whyte, is a victims campaigner and a lecturer in higher education. He is the chairperson of the Welcome organisation which deals with addiction and homelessness. His house was bombed twice by the UVF resulting in the death of his mother Peggy and a young policeman Michael Dawnson

Eileen Weir, is an awarded community development practitioner with over 30 years experience in building Good Relations. Eileen is currently employed by Shankill Women’s Centre as the Greater North Belfast Women’s Network Co-Ordinator and is working towards creating a West Belfast Women’s Network.

Patrick Speight, PhD in Irish Studies, Institute of Irish Studies and former producer and presenter, BBC Northern Ireland; curator, A State Apart, a digital archive of the Troubles.

Debbie Lisle, Debbie Lisle, Professor in Relations and International Political Sociology.

Jenny Stewart, communications consultant working across culture, heritage and design. Experience in the museum sector includes roles at the Design Museum, London and Royal Museums Greenwich.

Magda Gasso, General Director of Museums, Catalan Government.

Esther Aliaga Rodrigo, PhD in English Co-author of a dictionary of Irish culture in Spanish (Diccionario cultural e histórico de Irlanda) and a book of interviews with Irish writers and academics (Ireland in Writing).

Damien Okado-Gough, Peace and Conflict Studies graduate from the University of Ulster, and is currently pursuing a PhD in peacebuilding at Doshisha University in Kyoto Japan.  He grew up in  West Belfast during the 70s and 80s.

Gareth Mulvenna – PhD in Social History, researcher and author. Troubles historian with a special focus on loyalism. Author of ‘Tartan Gangs and Paramilitaries: The Loyalist Backlash’ (Liverpool University Press, 2016) and co-author of the autobiography of Cllr Billy Hutchinson, ‘My Life in Loyalism’ (Merrion Press, 2020)

Clare Hirst, Museum Collections Manager for the Co-operative Heritage Trust, Conservator at The University of Manchester. Has worked as an Arts educator for children and adults. MRL Fellow (Museums Resilience Leadership) and currently researching museum collections within conflict and crisis, particularly in Northern Ireland where my family hail from.



Project Manager

Irene Boada Montagut, DPhil: former Northern Ireland correspondent for Spanish media and presenter on radio and television; honorary fellow, Institute of Irish Studies, Queen’s University Belfast; founder of the cross-community group, Children of the Troubles and Holylands Regeneration Group. Award in Leadership and Management (NICVA) with a Peace IV funded project with St Peter’s and Townsend Youth Clubs.

The Museum of the Troubles and the Peace Process is a registered Company Limited by Guarantee, NI 651235; registered with the Charity Commission  NIC107970

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.